An evening of the finest classical music from Mozart to Haydn alongside new commissions from composer and pianist of indie rock band The Jezebels.

The Australian Chamber Orchestra is renowned the world over for embracing celebrated classics alongside new commissions. They will team up with Australia’s most talented emerging string players to create a high-energy, 17-piece string orchestra known as the ACO Collective in their new concert, Mozart, Haydn & More.

Two new works have been commissioned by Australian composer and pianist of indie rock band, The Jezebels, Heather Shannon for the concert where they will premiere alongside classical music.

A unique program has been built for the concert by ACO Collective’s Finnish Artistic Director and violist Pekka Kuusisto, who brings international fame and a wicked sense of humour to all his work. Featured in the program is Haydn’s Symphony No. 47 in G Major  – Haydn was no stranger to humour himself and this symphony is nicknamed “The Palindrome” as it has been written with the second half a backwards version of the first half.

Creative Team

Pekka Kuusisto- Director & Violin

ACO Collective plus Wind players from the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM)



OLIVEROS The Tuning Meditation

HAYDN Symphony No.47 in G major “Palindrome”: Mvts 1 & 2


Heather SHANNON New Work 1 (world premiere)

MOZART Six Contredances, K.462: Nos. 1-3

HINDEMITH (arr. Rofe) Ludus Tonalis: Praeludium


HINDEMITH (arr. Rofe) Ludus Tonalis: Postludium

MOZARTSix Contredances, K.462: Nos. 4-6

Heather SHANNON New Work 2 (world premiere)

HAYDN Symphony No.47 in G major “Palindrome”: Mvts 3 & 4


OLIVEROS The Tuning Meditation

ACO Collective - Mozart, Haydn & More is supported by

  • Visual Arts


15th October 2019 — 24th November 2019

Presented by Country Arts SA

A contemporary framework by which to explore, express, and acknowledge Aboriginal veterans service in the Vietnam War – before, during and after.

View event
  • Film


22nd October 2019

Mild themes

Presented by Country Arts SA

From The Creators Of The War Room

View event