2019 Creative Communities Partnerships Announced

Country Arts SA is proud to announce the employment of four new and renewed Arts and Cultural Facilitators across the state in partnership with several key South Australian organisations under its Creative Communities Partnership Program.

Successful partnerships for 2019 include Naracoorte Lucindale Council, Raukkan Community Council, Regional Council of Goyder and City of Whyalla.

They join three other partnerships with the City of Victor Harbor and District Council of Yankalilla, City of Port Augusta and Carclew to make a total of seven Creative Communities Partnerships across the state.The three year partnerships employ Arts and Cultural arts workers in their respective regions, joining with other facilitators across regional South Australia to support arts and cultural outcomes with local artists, arts organisations and communities.

In 2012, Country Arts SA launched the program to support regional staffing partnerships. The new program was designed to ensure that Country Arts SA’s limited resources were more equitably distributed across regional South Australia in response to local demand.

Country Arts SA CEO Steve Saffell said the Creative Communities Partnership Program helps communities strengthen their connection to the arts and create career pathways for artists.“Partnerships exist to support artists and communities realise their arts and cultural ambitions, regardless of artform or community practice,” he said. “Arts and Cultural Facilitators are responsible for local outcomes, including in some cases the management of local arts and cultural assets such as local art galleries.”

“These partnerships result in new exhibitions, performances and projects, more artists developing their practice and being connected to statewide and national opportunities; the celebration of cultural experiences, creative pathways for young creatives and greater community engagement.”

Since 2012, 17 partnerships have been generated. These have been based in Ceduna/Streaky Bay, Whyalla, Roxby Downs, Port Augusta, Port Pirie, Tanunda, Victor Harbor/Yankalilla, Tailem Bend/Raukkan, Renmark, Bordertown, Mount Gambier and now also in Burra and Naracoorte.